Our unconventional life under the same roof.

As all of you know, The Hunger Games movie comes out today! The 4 of us had tickets for the midnight showing last night, of course. We have a slight obsession with the book series and since there is so much talk of these books-turned-movies, I thought I’d write a review of the film. No spoilers, I promise. Before I begin my review, though, I just want to say that this is more my opinion of the film than an actual critic review. I am not a critic by any means. Here’s a recap of our night.

If you haven’t read the books, do yourself a favor and read them. Below is a synopsis of the book from Amazon.com:

“In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games,” a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change, but one thing is constant: kill or be killed.”

Now for the movie. I have been stalking the internet for weeks waiting for the release of this film. I read articles and interviews that promised the movie would stick very close to the storyline of the book. Suzanne Collins, the author of the series, even had to approve what they had to change in the movie. I was hopeful about this, but I still had my doubts. Luckily, though, I was not disappointed.

We showed up to AMC Southroads IMAX at 9 p.m. to get in line. We only had to sit in the hallway for about an hour before they let us in to the theater! We were some of the first people into the 415 seat theater,  so we got great seats, perfect distance, right in the center of the screen. Once seated, we still had 2 hours to kill, so we wasted them playing Draw Something on our phones. By about 11p.m. I was getting a little anxious for the film. Also, I go to bed at 10 every night so I was a bit tired, too.

We watched what felt like a million trailers, then finally midnight was here!

As you can imagine, the book is pretty gruesome. I mean, they put children in an arena to fight to the death. So I wasn’t really sure how they would portray that in the movie. They did a great job with it. They didn’t show too much blood,  but at the same time it got the point across. Every major event in the book was included in the movie, as promised. The way they shot the movie was refreshing, like an indie film on a big budget.

In both the book and the movie, you are seeing The Hunger Games from Katniss Everdeen’s point of view. You see her trying to survive, forming alliances, playing both offense and defense in the games. You watch her struggle to understand the boy tribute from her district, Peeta. You see her fighting to stay alive when the odds are not in her favor.

There are always going to be details in the book that don’t make it in the movie, but overall they did a phenominal job with this adaptation.

Did you see the movie yet? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

